News index


County Council election - candidates announced

Nominations have closed for the Oxfordshire County Council elections on 4th June.

The four candidates in the Charlbury Division (which also includes villages such as Stonesfield, Chadlington, Kingham, and Finstock) are:

  • Conservative: Terence Owen (Frog Lane, Milton-under-Wychwood)
  • Green: Clarissa Hornblow (Jefferson Piece, Charlbury)
  • Labour: Gina Burrows (New Street, Chipping Norton)
  • Liberal Democrat: Rosalind Scott (Church Lane, Charlbury)

Of the four, the Green and Liberal Democrat candidates are the only ones to live in the division.

The Conservative candidate is also the West Oxfordshire district councillor for Chadlington & Churchill. The Labour candidate is a Chipping Norton town councillor. The Green and Liberal Democrat candidates are not councillors elsewhere.

The seat is currently held by Sue Haffenden (Conservative, of Chadlington) who is not standing again. Prior to 2005 it was held by Brian Hodgson (Labour, of Stonesfield) for 12 years. The District Council seats for the Charlbury and Finstock ward are currently held by Liberal Democrats Glena Chadwick (of Charlbury) and Mike Breakell (of Finstock).

Fri 8 May 2009, 14:24 · Link

Charlbury Website © 2012-2024. Contributions are the opinion of and property of their authors. Heading photo by David R Murphy. Code/design by Richard Fairhurst. Contact us. Follow us on Twitter. Like us on Facebook.