Community

Charlbury WI

We are a friendly, diverse group of women of all ages, and are always very pleased to see new faces at our monthly meetings. Our get togethers are geared up to be informal and entertaining, with our programme hopefully providing something of interest for everyone. (And we always treat ourselves to coffee, tea and home-made cake during the evening!)

Charlbury WI meet at 7.30pm on the third Wednesday in the month in the Memorial Hall. The 2018 subscription fee is £41. New members joining the WI for the first time can pay a pro-rata subscription depending on the quarter in which they join. For more information please e-mail Louise Cashman on charlburywi@outlook.com.

Keep up to date with what we're up to: details about forthcoming meetings are listed on the Events page of the Charlbury website; our own website went live in January 2017 www.charlburywi.org; and we can be found on social media using @charlburywi (Facebook, Twitter & Instagram).

You can take advantage of a wide range of courses on crafts and cookery, available to members, non-members, men and women, at the WI's national training centre, Denman College www.denmancollege.org.uk which we are lucky enough to have on our doorstep at Marcham near Abingdon.

Charlbury WI started a Yack & Yarn group in September 2014 which meets on the first Tuesday of the month at The Bell (7.30-9.30pm). This is an open group and you do not need to be a WI member to join in. All crafters are welcome to bring along any project that they have on the go and have a drink and chat as they stitch, sew, spin, knit or crochet!

2018 Calendar

Wednesday 17th January
Days For Girls charity (speaker Claire Codling)

Wednesday 21st February
The Loan Soldier (speaker Bruce Duncan)

Wednesday 21st March
A Puppet's Tale (speaker Angela Collins). Also the night of our AGM.

Wednesday 18th April
Medical Detection Dogs (speaker Heather Shute)

Wednesday 16th May
Quiz & Resolutions Debate

Wednesday 20th June
Dorset Buttons (speaker Jen Best)

Wednesday 18th July
Glove Making in Oxfordshire (speaker Carol Anderson)

Wednesday 15th August
Summer Jolly (details tbc)

Wednesday 19th September
Corsetry & Couture (speaker Rosie Dennington)

Wednesday 17th October
Midwives in Mongolia & Myanmar (speaker Frances Barnsley)

Wednesday 21st November
Lost Villages of Oxfordshire (speaker Muriel Pilkington)

Wednesday 19th December
Christmas meal (members only)

Other events

Fund raising coffee mornings & cake sales at the Corner House - Saturday 25th November 2017, Saturday 24th March & 8th December 2018

Last updated: Tue 21 Nov 2017

Charlbury Website © 2017. Contributions are the opinion of their authors. Heading photo by Alan Sinclair. Code/design by Richard Fairhurst. Contact us. Follow us on Twitter. Like us on Facebook.