Your local small shops- use them or lose them.

Jon Carpenter
(site admin)
👍

Mon 9 Apr 2018, 15:09

That's a great idea, Mike. Let's all hope it works. Avoidance of glut is always a problem, but I kept the best of the apples from Christine's apple days on the Playing Close last year, and we've only just finished them. So maybe finding suitable storage would help. I'm no expert in what keeps and for how long, but there will be people and websites that do!

Michael Flanagan
👍

Mon 9 Apr 2018, 07:41

PS

At the Deli, we DO have a reasonable selection of fresh veg.

Not perfect - but no-one's EVER said our "tomatoes and mushrooms were all rotten". Out of stock: sometimes.

But as one of the more forthright members of the team emailed me towards the end of this year's Seville Orange season:

"Mike: I'd have to say that one of the joys of living in the first world is that generally, the shops do dispose of food not fit for consumption. I think the line 'we won't sell oranges fit only for use as cricket balls' would be a rather empty boast.

IMHO, of course."

Michael Flanagan
👍

Mon 9 Apr 2018, 06:51

At the Deli, Lynne and the team have got a couple of other issues to concern theselves with today.

But among our plans this year is to provide an outlet for allotment holders. Everyone knows the complications: we might not welcome apples in September, for example, and we'll try to organise a sensible system before the gluts happen

Anyone interested: have a word with one of us, or email us on news@charlburydeli.cafe.

And no: we don't pay business rates. Anyone thinking of starting up a shop: drop us a note (again: news@charlburydeli.cafe) and one of us will explain.

If we can remember how it works.

Jon Carpenter
(site admin)
👍

Sun 8 Apr 2018, 23:03

In that case, Jim, they can say it's from their garden...

Jim Holah
👍

Sun 8 Apr 2018, 22:38

Allotment holders are not allowed to sell their produce though.

Jon Carpenter
(site admin)
👍

Sun 8 Apr 2018, 21:25