Snouts in Troughs (Debate)

Graham Wisker
👍 15

Sat 4 Dec 2021, 09:12 (last edited on Sat 4 Dec 2021, 09:24)

The bit I find very confusing is that as an HGV driver my hours of work are restricted. In a six month period my working hours are limited to average of 48 hours per week, in addition I cannot work no more than 60 working hours (Excludings breaks and POA (Periods of Availability, ie waiting at sites / docks etc for goods)) in a given week but the following weeks are reduced to hit the average.  This was introduced by the EU as part of the working time directive along with my tachograph regulations which also determine my hours (to complicated to explain!).

With these regulations in place I would not be able to have a second job, not that I need one.  The question is that is why hasn't this directive been introduced to other sectors like medical and educational? I am sure that I am not the only one who wouldn't want an an over worked and tired lorry driver behind them or over stretched surgeon doing a major heart operation.

I have come to conclusion that many MPs are greedy, liars and not trustworthy, in addition like the sound of their own voices to get want they want us to believe.  - "Do as I  say not as I do" springs to mind!

Michael Peake
👍 5

Fri 3 Dec 2021, 13:16

I suspect that any Top 30 list of MPs' second jobs would predominantly feature the party in power. If you're going to attempt to buy yourself favours from Westminster, you'd probably want someone sat to the Speaker's right.

That's in no way a defence of the Tory MPs. Rather, it magnifies how important it is that this kind of thing is outlawed. It surely cultivates corruption.

Alex Michaels
👍 6

Thu 2 Dec 2021, 23:25

If someone wants to become an MP they have to be prepared to suspend activity in any other 'alternative' vocation/employment during that period. No one is forcing them to be an MP, after all - they have decide what their job is and leave the alternative alone.